Norwegian | English


Kate Derum Award for Small Tapestries 2013.
Australian Tapestry Workshop in South Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
29 August to 27 September 2013.

Kate Derum Award for Small Tapestries, Competition and Exhibition.

Awarded every two years, the Kate Derum Award was created in honour of the former Deputy Director of the Australian Tapestry Workshop, who passed away in 2008.

Forty two finalists have been selected from over seventy entries for the Kate Derum Award for Small Tapestries. The Kate Derum Award is organized by the Australian Tapestry Workshop, and generously supported by Justice Susan Morgan and the Tapestry Foundation of Australia. First prize is a non-acquisitive award of $5000. Artists in their first five years of professional practice are eligible for the Irene Davies Emerging Artist Award, a non-acquisitive award of $1000 supported by Alayne and Alan Davis.

The winner of the award will be announced on Thursday the 29th of August at the opening of the exhibition at the Australian Tapestry Workshop.

The finalists selected for this round are not only from Australia but also represent an international contingent from New Zealand, UK, USA, France, India, Norway, Sri Lanka, India, Hungary, Czech Republic, Latvia, Denmark and Lithuania. The selection of finalists was made by ATW Director Antonia Syme and Roger Leong, Curator, International Fashion & Textiles at the National Gallery of Victoria.

All finalists will be displayed in the exhibition at the ATW from 29 August to 27 September 2013.The judges of the 2013 Kate Derum Award for Small Tapestries were be Kay Lawrence AM, a member of the ATW Board of Directors and noted artist-weaver, and Jason Smith, Director of the Heide Museum of Modern Art.